Changing the Narrative in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Research

Four Cooperative Research Centres and the Lowitja Institute: The story so far

We support the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander researchers of tomorrow (photo courtesy QIMR Berghofer)

Our Chairperson

Ms Pat Anderson AO receives the 2016 Human Rights Medal from President of the Human Rights Commission Professor Gillian Triggs

The Lowitja Institute Board

Mr Selwyn Button, Dr Tamara Mackean, Ms Pat Anderson AO (Chair), Ms June Oscar AO, Professor Peter Buckskin PSM, Mr Russell Taylor (some directors absent)


Some 154 million Indigenous and tribal peoples included in the The Lancet–Lowitja Institute Global Collaboration – Indigenous and tribal peoples’ health: A population study.

Our international links

Keynote speakers from the Lowitja Institute International Indigenous Health and Wellbeing Conference with our CEO

Our partners

Participants Forum, November 2016

The Lowitja Institute award winners 2016

L–R: Dr Lisa Whop, Assoc. Professor Gail Garvey, Assoc. Profressor Roxanne Bainbridge

Our Patron

Dr Lowitja O'Donoghue AC CBE DSG

Research roundtables

Bringing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community organisations, government and other stakeholders together

We are an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander organisation working for the health and wellbeing of Australia's First Peoples through high impact quality research, knowledge translation and by supporting a new generation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health researchers.


Video - Good decisions grow from great research