The Lowitja Institute Research Leadership Award

Assoc. Professor Gail Garvey

2016 winner – Assoc. Professor Gail Garvey

The Lowitja Institute and the Cranlana Programme have partnered to offer this award to recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health research leadership and excellence.

The award is a fully funded position in the Cranlana Programme’s Executive Colloquium. The Executive Colloquium is a unique development course for senior leaders from across the public, private and community sectors. The programme aims to develop complex decision-making and leadership capabilities through an intensive week-long examination of the foundational ideas that underpin contemporary society.

The award seeks to recognise Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander researchers who have made a significant contribution to their academic field. Award conditions stipulate that:

  • the research is for the health and wellbeing benefit of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander peoples
  • the award recipient has made a significant contribution to capacity development and community strengthening by, for example
    (a) building on skills and abilities of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people and community
    (b) supporting and/or mentoring other Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander researchers 
  • the work should be nationally and/or internationally recognised
  • the award recipient has made a contribution to the development of Indigenous knowledges and research methodologies
  • the scope of research disciplines is broad and could include, for example, basic science, medicine, epidemiology, public health, social health and community health.

Applications for the 2018 Award are now open. To apply click HERE.

Lowitja Institute Research Leadership Award winners
  • 2016 – Assoc. Professor Gail Garvey
  • 2015 – Professor Sandra Eades

The 2016 Lowitja Institute Research Leadership Award was presented at the Lowitja Institute International Indigenous Health and Wellbeing Conference 2016.

The Cranlana Programme

Created: 02 September 2015 - Updated: 11 December 2017